IPL 2020: It is impossible to break these 10 stunning records from IPL

Mumbai Indians and Chennai Superkings have been the top two teams to win the maximum number of IPL seasons.

IPL 2020: It is impossible to break these 10 stunning records from IPL
Indian premiere league ipl 2020

While the cricket enthusiast eagerly wait for the Indian Premier League (IPL) every year, the tournament has never disappointed its fans throughout the 12 seasons. In fact, it has only added laurels to the names of many cricketers, making them more bankable names in the sports arena. Starting in 2008, IPL has been loved not just by in India, but even worldwide. 

While this year, it was being said that the latest season of IPL might not take place due to the pandemic. After a lot of discussions, BCCI finally decided to have the 13th season of IPL, which started in Dubai from September 19, 2020. The final match for this season’s tournament will take place on 10th November. And while every season has been bigger than the other, here are 10 amazing records in the IPL history that are impossible to break. 

Maximum season victories

So far in the 12 seasons of IPL Mumbai Indians has won the season trophy maximum number of times. They have won the trophy 4 times in the year, 2013, 2015, 2017, and 2019. Other than Mumbai Indians, Chennai Superkings also won the season 3 times, in the years, 2010, 2011, and 2018. 

Maximum Runs

In the IPL history, Suresh Raina has made the maximum number of runs which are 4985. Virat Kohli is just behind Suresh by one run, other names in this list include Rohit Sharma, Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, M S Dhoni, and David Warner who have made more than 4000 runs. 

Maximum Wickets

Lasith Malinga is the only player to have taken more than 150 wickets in the history of IPL. Others who follow Malinga on the list include, Amit Mishra and Piyush Chawla who have taken more than 140 wickets, while Dwayne Johnson and Harbhajan Singh have also taken more than 130 wickets. 

Maximum centuries and half-centuries

Gautam Gambhir has scored the maximum number of half-centuries, which is 36, followed by Suresh Raina with a total of 35 half-centuries, and Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma with 34 half-centuries. Cricketer Chris Gayle has hit the highest centuries, which is 6 in the 12 seasons of IPL, followed by Virat Kohli, Shane Watson, AB de Villiers, and David Warner. 

Fastest Half Centuries

KL Rahul has made the fastest half-centuries in the IPL history. He made 50 runs in 14 balls last year opposite Delhi Daredevils, breaking Yusuf Pathan and Sunil Narayan’s record of making a half-century in 15 balls. 

Maximum number of victories and defeats

Mumbai Indians have played the maximum number of matches, and even won most of them. Out of 171 matches across seasons, they have won 97 matches. After Mumbai Indian’s Chennai Superkings has had the maximum number of victories, followed by Kolkata Knight Riders. Delhi Daredevils, Kings XI Punjab, and Royal Challengers Bangalore have been the teams to lose the maximum number of matches. 

The most successful captain

While IPL has had the best of players playing the games, the top 3 outstanding captains have been MS Dhoni with 94 victories, Gautam Gambhir with 71 victories, and Rohit Sharma with 51 victories. While Dhoni and Rohit’s teams have won IPL thrice, Gautam’s team KKR has only won it twice. 

Maximum fours and sixes

Kolkata Knight Riders and Delhi Daredevil’s player Gautam Gambhir has hit the maximum number of fours, which is 491, in the IPL history. Following him in the list are Shikhar Dhawan, Suresh Raina, and Virat Kohli. Chris Gayle has hit the maximum number of 292 sixes in IPL, followed by AB de Villiers, MS Dhoni, and Suresh Raina. 

Maximum number of matches

8 players have played more than 150 matches while 3 have played more than 170 matches. Suresh Raina has played the most number of matches followed by MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma. The 8 players with 150 matches have been, Dinesh Kartik, Robin Uthappa, Yusuf Pathan, Virat Kohli, Gautam Gambhir, and Ravindra Jadeja. 

Most number of catches

10 players have taken more than 50 catches, and three have taken more than 75 catches. However, it is Suresh Raina who tops this list with 95 catches. Other players on the list are Rohit Sharma, AB de Villiers, and Keron Pollard. 

Written by Nawaz Kochra